“This Is Not Practice, This Is Your Life”

Sometimes I feel like the biggest phony the world has ever churned out. Like, really? I can just go out… and do things with my life? Things I actually want to do? I’m waiting for someone to stop me in the street and tell me to cut it out, but it hasn’t happened yet. The people of Earth have let me roam free – and it’s the strangest feeling I’ve had.

I don’t want to waste time. That’s where everything I’ve done, especially lately, has come from. I’m terrified of a lot of stuff, but hiding in a hole doesn’t work for me. If I’m scared of time then I’ve got to use it. I’ve got to tell myself It’s Now Or Never, You’ll Thank Me Later, You Have Too Many Days Off, Do Something, This Isn’t Practice.

This video was posted, what, 2 years ago? Jeez. But when I watched it for the first time I got it. It made me feel better about rash decisions and going with my gut. Hell, it was posted around the same time I would have been signing up for a freaking Arts degree.

I think of this video whenever I do something scary and ridiculous. I seem to be doing a lot of those lately. For anyone thinking of doing the same, this is something you’ll want to watch.

Leave a Reply

