Music, Playlists, Sleep

the room was colourless, 

cloaked in dark

and all I could do 

was listen to old playlists:

hear songs that hadn’t existed 

for me

for years, see morning

through the windows, watch

the colour return to the room

with my eyes cloaked in sleep

unslept, still listening to old playlists:

Be Healed by Paper Route

Jesus by Brand New 

Don’t Waste Yourself by General Ghost

this one’s titled Sleep and I wait

for it to come, I wait 

and I watch as the sun rises

so when I close my eyes 

to watch the backs of my eyelids

they’re red

Leave a Reply

