Public Property (or How to be Invisible)

Yesterday I walked down the street

and you asked me for my number

and I felt like I was living

for someone else

 

The Diary of a Teenage Girl:

Minnie Goetze says

So maybe nobody loves me, and she dances

alone in her room. I watch myself

 

from my bedroom ceiling

Are you living for someone else?

I don’t know what’s for you

and what’s for them

 

The Diary of a Teenage Girl:

she says

Maybe nobody will ever love me, and she doesn’t

care. People keep stopping me in the street

 

and asking me questions

They keep seeing me

and it hurts. I want to imagine I belong

to myself. I am who I think I am

 

Leave a Reply

